Autumn Concert


Saturday 18 November 2017, 7:30 pm
Oxford Town Hall

Weber - Der Freischütz Overture
Joseph Phibbs - Clarinet Concerto
Bruckner - Symphony no.6

Mark van de Wiel clarinet
Robert Max conductor

Bruckner's sixth was for him a favourite amongst his symphonies. Composed during one of the happiest periods of his life he described it as 'cheeky' and 'bold'. It evokes joy, pain, consolation and hope and concludes in resplendent exultation.

Joseph Phibbs', orchestral music is both exciting and marvellously crafted, 'hugely satisfying'. His new Clarinet Concerto is a commission by Mark van de Wiel and the Philharmonia Orchestra. Mark's Oxford performance follows the London premiere.

Weber's Der Freischütz Overture is one of his most popular orchestral works and provides a dramatic and tuneful opening to the concert.